Town of Matthews
- Patrol Division

What Do We Do ? The Patrol Division functions as the department’s first responders - responding to the majority of the department’s 40,000+ calls per year.These officers are responsible for conducting preventative patrols throughout the community, responding to citizen calls for service, providing immediate investigation of crimes, assisting our EMS department on emergency medical calls, promoting traffic safety, and conducting traffic crash investigations.  This team of thirty-eight members serve in four Patrol Teams and provide community safety 24/7 and respond to more than 100 calls for service daily.   

In addition to their daily duties the Patrol Division contributes to other specialized initiatives within the department. Patrol Officers operate as Bicycle Patrols Officers, Field Training Officers, State Certified Instructors, Child Passenger Safety Seat Technicians, Traffic Crash Reconstructionist and members of the Special Response Team (SRT).  Two Police K-9 units are also assigned to the Patrol Division.  Each K-9 unit is assigned to two patrol teams allowing their availability for both day and night shift teams. Members of the division also serve on a number of departmental and Town committees and participate in community service events.   

Prevention Suggestion:         
- Safety and security do not occur by accident, it takes a team effort.  Our department cannot be successful without the help of our citizens.  Stay alert and be aware of your surroundings.  If something seems out of place or unnatural report it.  Criminals are opportunists, so secure your valuables.  Vigilance is our best tool in preventing crime and improving safety for all!  

Roy Sisk
Captain Roy Sisk -
 
Roy Sisk is a graduate of Wingate University and has over 20 years’ experience in law enforcement.  He joined the Matthews Police Department in 2003 and has worked as a Patrol Officer, Patrol Corporal, and Patrol Sergeant.  He served as a team leader within the department’s SRT for 6 years.  Captain Sisk is currently Division Commander of the Patrol Division, leading the thirty-eight members of this division.  He is certified as a NC law enforcement general instructor and conducts in service training in the areas of DWI Detection and Standardized Field Sobriety Testing, Officer Safety and Readiness, Rapid Deployment and Tactical Communications.  Captain Sisk is a graduate of the 26th class of the North Carolina Justice Academy’s Management Development Program.   


“I am honored to be associated with an organization that truly strives to serve the community.”
- Captain Roy Sisk

 

    Patrol Division

    Capt. Roy Sisk
    (704) 841-6709
    rsisk@matthewsnc.gov


    Sgt. Walter Breth
    (704) 841-6771
    jbreth@matthewsnc.gov

        Cpl. Benita Thomas
        (704) 841-6763
        bthomas@matthewsnc.gov

    Sgt. Grant Nelson
    (704) 841-6747
    gnelson@matthewsnc.gov

        Cpl. James Flack
        (704) 841-6756
        jflack@matthewsnc.gov

    Sgt. James Lally
    (704) 841-6772
    jlally@matthewsnc.gov

        Cpl. Lance Paugh
        (704) 841-6750
        lpaugh@matthewsnc.gov

    Sgt. Fred Vaneekhoven
    (704) 841-6700
    fvaneekhoven@matthewsnc.gov

        Cpl. Juan Velez
        (704) 841-6777
        jvelez@matthewsnc.gov
     
     
     
     
     
    Town of Matthews | 232 Matthews Station Street Matthews, NC 28105  |  Phone: 704-847-4411  |  Fax: 704-845-1964
    Contact Us  |  Site Map   |  Powered by MunicipalCMS
    E-notify RSS Feeds Twitter Facebook 
    0